The inaugural BPJ Spring Ball took place on Friday, May 3rd at Worcester County Cricket Club. The event was held to celebrate the contributions and achievements of our members, who work tirelessly to support fellow members, help them achieve their running goals, and keep the club running smoothly.

The support of prominent figures in the local running community was enlisted to judge the nominees and create short lists for each award, and our thanks go to Marie Tyrrell, Richard Ralphs, Paul Newman & Peter Boyle.

The awards and their nominees were as follows:

Inclusivity award

Actively engages with members with disabilities & new members, being prepared to support them even if they need to sacrifice their own development.

  • Runner up: Lorraine Griffiths
  • Winner: Cliff Wood


Most Inspirational award

Shows drive and determination to achieve, leads by example, shows exceptional courage

  • Runner up: Wendy Cole
  • Winner: Shaun Paskin


Community Spirit award

Demonstrates commitment to the wider community, promotes the club at events and outside of running.

  • Runner up: Kaine Pritchett
  • Winner: Glenn Barker


Unsung Hero award

Demonstrates commitment without recognition, puts others first, is consistently reliable

  • Runner up: Kim Sparkes
  • Winner: Ian Hornabrook


Newcomer of the Year award

Has shown greatest improvement in their running, has contributed to club activity consistently, and has displayed the values of Worcester’s friendly running club.

  • Runner up: Ellie Carey
  • Winner: Bex Jones


Most Supportive Member award

Has supported other members in their development, offered guidance & advice, has taken responsibility to support club events.

  • Runner up: Rachel Hornabrook
  • Winner: Jem Newton-Smith


Grit & Determination award

Has persevered through difficult circumstances, has shown huge improvement in their running development.

  • Runner up: Dave Williams
  • Winner: Sam McClory


Volunteer of the Year​ award

Has consistently volunteered at club events, has represented the club in the wider community, and taken on extra responsibility.

  • Runner up: Gay Grove
  • Winner: Chris Attwood & Amy Willetts


Best Sporting Conduct award

Has shown genuine commitment to others, and sacrificed their own development in doing so.

  • Runner up: Derek Jackson
  • Winner: Steve Bradley


Special Contribution award

Has gone beyond the realms of normal club activity, and demonstrated outstanding commitment to the club.

  • Runner up: Peter Darwen
  • Winner: Claire Shacklock


Judges Choice award

Specially award for outstanding achievement.

  • Winner: Ewelina Skolimowska

Congratulations to everyone nominated, runners up and winners; and thanks to all those who attended to make this a landmark club event.